UNESCO-Madanjeet Singh Prize for the Promotion of Tolerance and Non-Violence Jury Meeting

News Paris, France - 1st October 2009

UNESCO-Madanjeet Singh Prize
for the Promotion of Tolerance and Non-Violence
Jury Meeting
Parsi, France, 1-2 October 2009


The meeting will take place in Room XIV on minus 2 floor at the UNESCO Bonvin building -1, rue Miollis, 75015 Paris.


1, rue Miollis
75732 Paris Cedex 15 France
In ltd' General phone: +33 (0)1 45681000

Coordiantes of the Secretariat of the Prize:

Mr. Vladimir Volodin
Secretary of the Prize
Chief of the Human Rights and Gender Equality Section
Division of Human Rights, Human Security and Philosophy
Sector of Social and Human Sciences SHS/RSP/HR-GED
1, rue Miollis,
75015 Paris
Tel.: + 33 (0) 1 45 68 38 45/44 (to dial from France 0145683844/45)
Fax: + 33 (0) 1 45 68 57 26
E-mail: v.volodine@unesco.org

Ms Irina Zoubenko-Laplante
Assistant Programme Specialist SHS/RSP/HR-GED
Tel.: + 33 (0) 1 45 68 38 22 (to dial from France 0145683822)
Tel.: + 33 (0) 6 88 02 1828 (to dial from France 0688021828)
Fax: + 33 (0) 1 45685726
E-mail: i.zoubenko-Iaplante@unesco.org



Thursday, 1 October 2009
(Room XIV, minus 2 floor, UNESCO Bonvin building)

9:30 - 10:30

Arrival of participants
Coffee/Tea service


Official Opening of the meeting of the International Jury of the UNESCO Madanjeet Singh Prize for the Promotion of Tolerance and Non-Violence by Pierre Sane, Assistant Director-General of UNESCO for Social and Human Sciences (ADG/SHS).

  • Election of the Chair and Deputy Chair of the Jury (Article 5.2 of the Statutes of the Prize)

  • Methods of work

  • 1st round of deliberations


(UNESCO Restaurant, 7 place de Fontenoy, 75007 Paris)

Lunch given on behalf of the Director-General of UNESCO Koïchiro Matsuura by Pierre Sane, ADG/SHS, with the participation of Madanjeet Singh, UNESCO Goodwill Ambassador and Founder of the South Asia Foundation, Donor of the Prize.


2nd round of deliberations

17:30 - 18:00

Conclusion of the 1st day of deliberations


Dinner (to be confirmed)

Dinner hosted by Madanjeet Singh on the occasion of the end of the term in office of the Director-General of UNESCO Koïchiro Matsuura
(Residence of Madanjeet Singh: Tour Totem, 57, Quai de Grenelle, 75015 Paris)

Friday, 2 October 2009


3rd and final round of deliberations


Lunch (free)

15:00 - 16:00

Preparation of the assessment on nominations and accompanying recommendations to be sent to the Director-General to UNESCO (Article 5.5 of the Statutes of the Prize) by the Secretariat

16:00 - 18:00

Adoption of the report of the Jury meeting, containing the assessment on nominations and recommendations to the Director-General of UNESCO

Jury members (1-2 October 2009)

Professor Maurice GLELE AHANHANZO (Benin), Ph.D. in Law, distinguished statesman and lawyer of Benin, Chairman of the Constitutional Commission of Benin which drafted the Constitution of 11 December 1990. At present, President of the "Institut des droits de I'homme et de la promotion de la democratie: La democratie au quotidien" - Institute for Human Rights and Promotion of Democracy: Democracy in Everyday Life (Benin).
In this capacity, he received the Honourable Mention of the UNESCO Prize for Human Rights Education 2002. One of the drafters of the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights. Member of the United Nations Human Rights Committee for eight years, Special Rapporteur on Contemporary forms of racism, racial discrimination, xenophobia and related intolerance (1993 - July 2002). Author of several books"and numerous publications.

Dr. Kamal HOSSAIN (Bangladesh), prominent Bangladeshi politician, statesman and lawyer: former Minister of Law (1972-1973), Minister of Foreign Affairs (1973-1975) and Minister of Petroleum and Minerals (1974-1975); former UN Special Rapporteur on the situation of human rights in Afghanistan (1998- 2003); former Panel-D Chairman of the UN Compensation Commission in Geneva; former Chair of the Commonwealth Human Rights Advisory Council and Member of the Commonwealth Commission on Respect and Understanding chaired by Nobel Laureate Amartya Sen (2007); JUdge ad hoc of the Intemational Tribunal for the Law of the Sea in Hamburg (2003); Member of the Arbitral Tribunal under Annex VII of the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea, in the Land Reclamation case involving Malaysia and Singapore (2004-2005), and in the Maritime Delimitation case involving Guyana and Surinam (2005-2007); Chairman and Member in a number of International Arbitral Tribunals, including International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes (ICSID), International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) and United Nations Commission on Intemational Trade Law (UNCITRAL). He is currently a member of two ICSID Tribunals.

Professor loanna KUÇURADI (Turkey), Turkish philosopher, President of the International Federation of Philosophical Societies (1998-2003) and organizer of the 21st World Congress of Philosophy. Since 1979, she has been President of Philosophical Society of Turkey and is a full time academic of Maltepe University. She is also known for her efforts to promote human rights and human rights education both in Turkey and internationally. She received the honorable Mention of the UNESCO Prize for Human Rights Education (2002). She was member of the Committee of Human Sciences of the UNESCO National Commission of
Turkey until 1997. Author of several books and numerous publications.

Mr. Masateru NAKAGAWA (Japan), President of the House of Culture of Japan in Paris.

Mr. Mokhtar TALES-BENDIAB (Algeria), Director-General of l'Institut du monde arabe à Paris, Director of the Algerian Cultural Centre in Paris.